Flower Mound & Denton



CLICK HERE for COVID-19 Info & updates

What Can I Eat This Holiday Season?

What Can I Eat This Holiday Season?

If this is your first holiday season going gluten-free, there may be a lot to learn. Here are some tips to help you navigate the holidays.

  • Plain turkey is naturally gluten-free. This doesn’t apply to turkey that has been marinated, seasoned, or stuffed with something containing gluten.
  • Gravy can also be safe but ask if it has been thickened with wheat flour.
  • Ham is also naturally gluten-free. Ask about the glaze, however, which may contain wheat starch.
  • Cooking bags may keep meats moist but flour is often used to keep the bags from exploding. Use cornstarch instead.
  • Traditional mashed potatoes and sweet potato recipes are often great for gluten-free diets. Some cooks use flour in their recipes though so beware and ask questions.
  • Not all cornbread’s are gluten free. Many recipes and mixes do have wheat flour. Use a gluten free cornbread mix or make your own to stay safe.
  • Get ready to experiment. This is a great time to start trying new recipes. For those who are more reluctant, start with a basic gluten free mix. You can create your own using the following recipe: ½ cup oat flour, ¼ cup sorghum flour, ¼ cup coconut/rice/almond flour and ¼ cup tapioca flour or potato starch. This mix is a good starting point. You can change it up depending on what you’re making.
  • Explain to your host what it means to be gluten free and your concerns about cross contamination. A well intended host may not realize the dangers of using the same spoon to scoop out mashed potatoes and stuffing. Be very clear about how you can stay safe.
  • Bring your own gluten-free dish. In case all else fails, you won’t go hungry.
  • Use this as an opportunity to create new traditions. It is not uncommon to mourn comfort foods that you once enjoyed. Use this time to create new recipes and traditions. Gluten free diets can be nutritious and delicious.